Skip to content
Looking for lesson ideas? Check out our new Back to School 2020 collection to keep students engaged whether learning remotely or in the classroom.
Playback Speed:
Transcript

In this video, you will share your files and folders with others so they can view, edit, or comment on them. Using Google Drive allows you to share files and folders with one or more people. Multiple people can then work on a single file from their own separate screens. When you share, the people you share with won’t need to download or email new versions each time they work on it. This kind of digital collaboration helps people work and communicate effectively, even if they are in different places.

To begin, open your folder for volunteering.

Then, open the spreadsheet with the volunteer list.

You might share this type of file with others so that everyone can change their own details when they need to. Next, share the folder with the people listed in the spreadsheet.

Include a note to the group, so that they know what you expect them to do with the file.

Check the settings before you send it. If you want others to work on the file themselves, set it so they can edit.

If you want feedback, but want to make any changes yourself, set it to comment instead.

If you want to share a file that you do not want to be changed, such as a recipe, set it so others can view it only.

You can also share an entire folder.

Folder sharing allows multiple people to access and collaborate on a group of files organized in one folder.

Now, it’s your turn: Share a file with a group, And share a folder with a group.

Instructions

  1. Share a file with a group.
  2. Share a folder with a group.